cropped-growing-plant-1x1-1-300x300-1-e1711995706593.webp
Growing Adaptive Organizations

Viable System Model

Introducing VSM without mentioning VSM?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Krishan Mathis
    Keymaster

The other day we had a discussion about the best way to introduce the Viable System Module to a manager. The idea came up that you can avoid resistance by not mentioning VSM at all, but just pointing out the advantages and then simply introducing the elements. I don’t think that can work. It may look promising at first, but an idea without a name has no chance of sticking in someone’s mind or being accepted into the discourse of a group.

I have some experience of having tried this approach unsuccessfully with the introduction of agile to teams and organizations. I had less resistance to overcome, that’s true, but the team usually stopped using Agile before I had closed the door behind me.

• So what can you do?
    • Start with the benefits
    • Clearly define the field in which you are operating. This includes naming the essential elements of VSM
    • Not sinking into the mire of in-group argumentation. I think it’s far too easy, and I’ve noticed this in myself too, even though I haven’t been part of the VSM community that long
    • Stay connected. That means not setting up opposites, but pointing out the parallels and similarities with other methods and definitely avoiding coming along with a golden hammer that can solve all problems.
      and no, not to fall into the trap of telling a pleasing story “from the field”. I’m tired of finding the same example companies in a lot of management literature (airport books that you can read while waiting for a flight) that have to provide material for all kinds of arguments using the same mechanisms.

I started with a simple introduction: A One-Minute Introduction on what the VSM is about. This is by no means the last version – just calling for feedback and improvement proposals.